Please note the monument concept described below, in both location and design, is in the process of being approved. If this specific concept is not approved, all donations from past and ongoing fundraising will still go to a monument in honour of Maxime and the missing of Stalker 22. Updates can be found on this site. 

Hello,

We are the family of Captain Maxime Miron-Morin who was tragically lost in the CH-148 Cyclone helicopter crash in the Ionian Sea while proudly serving Canada aboard HMCS Fredericton. During our reflection following the crash, several observations and themes aligned that helped us identify how to best honor and represent Maxime and his brothers and sisters in arms. 

This legacy must showcase love, belonging, family and home, in addition to loyalty, commitment, and humility. These are concepts that can have more than one meaning and take on different meanings to each of us. This is what prompted our choice towards a physical monument as a tribute to the Stalker 22 crash, and other soldiers who lost their lives aboard Maritime Helicopters.

"Love ..." Maxime knew his great love in the Forces. It was in Kingston, at the Royal Military College of Canada, that he met his big love, his soulmate, Kathryn. Maxime also loved his brothers Michaël, Jonathan and Jessy and his sister Stéphanie, his father and me, other members of our families and many friends. We all loved him so deeply. It is important that Maxime’s family in Québec has a place of our own that honors and remembers him, a place for us to reflect and think of him.

"Belonging and family ..." Family is what comes to mind first, of which ours is mostly in the Mauricie region of Québec (Max's native region). Maxime was deeply loved and appreciated by all his family and made a point of coming home to visit as much as he could. Maxime’s family in-law also loved him dearly. His parents-in-law considered him as their own son and often referred to Max as their favorite child. The connection between his brother and sisters-in-law was immediate and Max was without a doubt their brother.

"Loyalty and humility ..." Maxime was never looking for individual accolades or honors. However, he was very competitive and was always motivated to work towards a victory. He participated in mostly team sports, with great respect for his opponent. Even as he competed in track and field, an individual sport, he competed on the college team and told us about his team's achievements.

We would like to erect a monument in Mauricie, that will honor the memory of Maxime, the five other members lost in the Stalker 22 crash, and all Canadians who lose their lives aboard Maritime Helicopters.

We envision a main monument with satellite trees dedicated to each member lost in the crash - each tree surrounding this tragedy with new life. A monument made of stone, featuring the wings of the RCAF in bas-relief - Maxime was so proud of his wings! On the stone at the base of the monument, an inscription with the names of all the MH soldiers who never returned home from their mission. On top, a bronze bas-relief plaque of CH-148 Cyclone Stalker 22 and HMCS Fredericton, with a special dedication to the RCAF aircrew Maxime, Matthew, Brenden, and Kevin, and their RCN passengers Abbigail and Matthew - honoring the connection between the RCN and the RCAF. If possible, a hologram cast on a nearby building, a modern monument that arouses curiosity – there to leave a vivid memory of Maxime and Stalker 22. Curiosity is the root of the scientific pursuit that was so dear to Maxime.

 

We would also like flags to be flown on poles near the monument. These flags could be replaced on the anniversary of Maxime’s return home and the flags that have flown on the monument could be offered to cadets in the region. It was the cadets who instilled in Maxime a sense of commitment and the dream of flying. Maxime always attached great importance to youth, sports, and training. He would have been so proud to be able to give back and in turn motivate a young person to surpass himself.

Honoring all his brothers and sisters in arms is a reflection of who Max was.

An update on development will be provided regularly.

Thank you for following us!

Kathryn and Marie-Claude

  • Facebook

© 2020 Memorial - Stalker 22, Trois-Rivières, Quebec, Canada

Any reproduction is prohibited without the consent of the author

Veuillez noter que le concept de monument décrit ci-dessous, tant dans son emplacement que dans sa conception, est en cours d'approbation. Si ce concept spécifique n'est pas approuvé, tous les dons provenant de la collecte de fonds passée et en cours iront toujours à un monument en l'honneur de Maxime et des disparus du Stalker 22. 

Bonjour,


Nous sommes la famille du Capitaine Maxime Miron-Morin qui est décédé dans l’écrasement du Cyclone CH-148 en mer Ionienne et, qui était en support au NCSM Frédéricton. À la suite de cet évènement tragique, plusieurs éléments se sont mis en place au cours de notre réflexion. Plusieurs constats sont aussi apparus clairement et devaient bien représenter Maxime ainsi que ses frères et soeurs d’arme.

Ce leg doit présenter l’amour, l’appartenance, la famille et la résidence mais aussi la loyauté, l’engagement et l’humilité. Ce sont des concepts qui peuvent avoir plus d’un sens, et prendre un sens différent pour chacun d’entre nous. C’est ce qui a motivé notre choix pour un mémorial, un monument physique, à l’hommage de son équipage, et des autres combattants ayant perdu la vie au sein des hélicoptère maritime (HM).

"L’amour…" Maxime a connu son grand amour au sein des Forces. C’est à Kingston, au Collège militaire Royal du Canada, qu’il a connu son âme soeur Kathryn. LE grand amour. Maxime aimait aussi énormément ses frères Michaël, Jonathan et Jessy et sa petite soeur Stéphanie, son père et moi, d’autres membres de nos familles ainsi que de nombreux amis. Nous l'aimions tous aussi profondément. Nous devons, nous aussi, avoir un lieu à nous qui le rappelle où nous pourrons nous recueillir et penser à lui, à eux.

"L’appartenance et la famille…" La famille, la nôtre qui est majoritairement en Mauricie au Québec (Max est natif), est celle qui apparaît à première vue. Il était apprécié de tous, et se faisait un devoir de nous visiter aussitôt qu’il le pouvait. Maxime avait aussi une belle-famille qui l’aimait beaucoup. Ses beaux-parents considéraient Maxime comme leur propre fils. Ils aimaient bien plaisanter en disant qu’il était l’enfant préféré de la famille. Le lien entre son beau-frère et ses belles-soeurs était immédiat et ils considéraient Max comme un frère bien aimé.

"La loyauté et l’humilité…" Maxime ne recherchait pas les honneurs individuels. Il pouvait évidemment être flatté d’une attention ou d’une récompense, comme nous tous. Il était très compétitif et cherchait la victoire, plus que les honneurs. Il pratiquait majoritairement des sports d’équipe, avec un grand respect de l’adversaire. Même alors qu’il compétionnait en athlétisme, un sport individuel, il le faisait dans l’équipe du Collège et nous parlait des exploits de son équipe.

Nous aimerions ériger un monument en Mauricie qui rappellera le souvenir de Maxime, mais aussi les disparus du Stalker 22 ainsi que de tous les Canadiens ayant perdu la vie au sein des hélicoptère maritimes (HM).

Nous voyons un monument principal et des dédicaces d’arbres en satellite. Allier la vie à la tragédie par les arbres. Un monument de pierre gravée, arborant les ailes du RCAF en bas-relief. Maxime était si fier de ses ailes ! Sur la pierre, dans la base du monument, les noms de tous les combattants MH n’étant jamais rentrés de mission. Sur le dessus, une plaque bas-relief de bronze montrant le CH-148 Cyclone Stalker 22 et le NCSM Fredericton, avec une dédicace particulière aux équipages de l'ARC Maxime, Matthew, Brenden et Kevin, ainsi qu'à leurs passagers de la MRC Abbigail et Matthew. Ce monument permettra de faire un beau lien entre l'ARC et la MRC. J’aimerais aussi pouvoir y installer un hologramme, laisser un souvenir bien vivant de Maxime, un monument moderne qui attise la curiosité. La curiosité c’est la racine de la science qui était si chère à Maxime.

 

Nous aimerions aussi que des drapeaux (étendards) flottent sur des mâts près du monument. Ces drapeaux pourraient être remplacés à l’occasion de l’anniversaire de son retour au pays, par exemple. Les drapeaux ayant flotté sur le monument pourraient être offerts en récompense à des cadets de la région. Une remise en son honneur donnerait un caractère symbolique que nous apprécierions. Ce sont les cadets qui ont donné le goût de l’engagement et le rêve de voler à Maxime. Maxime a toujours accordé une grande importance à la jeunesse, aux sports et à la formation. Il aurait été si fier de pouvoir redonner et motiver à son tour un jeune au dépassement de soi.

​Rendre cet hommage aux frères et soeurs d’armes, c’est certainement la bonne façon de lui rendre hommage selon nous.

Une mise à jour des développements seront faits régulièrement.

Merci de nous suivre!

​Kathryn et Marie-Claude